What I learned from the Webbys

This year’s Webby Winners are out and, once again, my favouritest site of all, COLOURlovers didn’t win (FlickRRRRRR!!!, lol) but it’s amazing that the site is in the nominee list! Maybe next year CL … 😀 There are some really amazing sites out there that make this time of year exciting for me. The Web Designer (oh yes, the caps are needed) part of me itches to see what the Webbys bring forth every year. Who stands at the cutting edge of design, communication? Where is web psychology taking us this year? I love seeing what the Webbys have to offer. Here are some of my 2009 faves …

The Museum of Modern has two fab sites that I’m loving. This first, I think is really cool because it’s about beautiful, beautiful colour. Color Chart: Reinventing Color 1950 to Today is a great ride through an art exhibition derived from the modern commercial colour chart. I love the colourful design and set up of the site. Design and the Elastic Mind is another Art nominee from MoMA that is fabulous. Instead of paraphrasing, let’s let MoMA speak for themselves:

Design and the Elastic Mind explores the reciprocal relationship between science and design in the contemporary world by bringing together design objects and concepts that marry the most advanced scientific research with attentive consideration of human limitations, habits, and aspirations. The exhibition highlights designers’ ability to grasp momentous changes in technology, science, and history—changes that demand or reflect major adjustments in human behavior—and translate them into objects that people can actually understand and use.

It’s a very cool exhibition, definitely worth your cyber time.

The Best Visual Design is one that I’m always interested in. I love this year’s People’s Voice Winner – Patagonia – The Tin Shed. The Tin Shed is filled with stories and as you look around the shed it’s just about impossible not to peek into all of them. It’s a unique journey and worthy of a win.

The Best Blog award goes to the always awesome 1000 Awesome Things. If you’ve never been over there, you need to have a read! This is one of the most awesome places on the web. (Did I get “awesome” in there enough times?)

This last one is a fave of mine: Boston Globe’s The Big Picture. It won, hands down, for Best Use of Photography and if you have a peek, you’ll see why. Letting pictures paint their thousands of words, it’s a worthy cyber break in your busy day. I especially like Human Landscapes from Above and the photos from Cassini’s mission (astronomy nerd alert). 

Head over to the Webby Awards to see the list of sites. You can learn a thing or two about the web and how it’s evolving, and while you’re there you can’t help but learn a thing or two about our world. 🙂

Oh and did I mention COLOURlovers?? Ok, I know I did but it’s worth another mention! If you love colour, love to play with colour, investigate colour, ruminate upon colour, discuss colour, LIVE in colour … then CL is the place for you! It’s only the most awesome community I’ve ever been part of. See those folks over on the right-hand side in the Peoples I Love column? Most of those are my lovely fellow CLs. I’m constantly inspired by the people I’ve come to know there. If there is one thing more wonderful than playing with colour it’s loving other colour people.

Leave a Reply

